9/11 Reflections

I forgot. I forgot to write a blog yesterday. I was just distracted for obvious reasons. After revisiting the timeline of that day. I was trying to reminding where I was. From recent recollection, I remember being in 6th grade, sitting in art class, listening to the radio in class. Some kids left home during that morning and by early afternoon, I think school was cancelled early. I vaguely remember cars being lined up to pick us up and the parents were concerned about oil prices going up.

I remember watching for the rest of the day the news stories. It seemed surreal. It felt like a movie. Looking back, I don’t think I fully understood the magnitude until later.

In fact, it wasn’t until 2008 that I remember looking on Youtube and finding many documentaries about the event. Many of them talk about the heroic actions of the NYFD, NYPD, and the first responders. Yesterday, I discovered one of the more unique films. It was about Operation Yellow Ribbon.  During the time when the FAA grounded all flights in the US, some planes were in the air crossing the Atlantic. Some of them were able to turn back to their original destinations but others couldn’t turn back. So they headed towards Canada, specifically to a little town called Gander in Newfoundland. Newfoundland has a large enough runway that could hold all the planes coming in. When they landed there, the people of Gander welcomed the passengers & crew by going above and beyond what was necessary. They allowed some of them to stay in their houses, churches, community buildings, and schools. They prepared meals and for the sick, they gave them free medication.

This story is so heartwarming that for just a moment, you forget the horrific actions of a few and you’re reminded by the best of human kind. I encourage you to watch this documentary along with “9/11: Emergency Room” to get a glimpse of light in the darkness. It’ll lift you up.

9/11: Operation Yellow Ribbon

9/11: Emergency Room

As Mr. Rogers said, “Look for the helpers. You will always find people who are helping.”

Leave a Reply

