Waiting on God

“Patience is a virtue.”

Everyone’s been taught this. It’s easier said than done. Sometimes, it seems impossible when you see friends and acquaintances start their careers much sooner. When they have found a job immediately after or even before college, it gets… well, depressing. Call me picky, but I don’t want just any job. Though I applied for jobs such as cashier, store associate, server, I’d prefer to be part of the creative aspects of a company, marketing or graphic design. Those are my talents and my passion. Creativity is my talent. I love working on a blank sheet… with some guidance.

This whole week has been hard with no calls for interviews and no answers. Despite that, I trust God. He’s taken care of me already. But His timing is surely not ours. I would’ve preferred to have a job 6 months ago and at a marketing agency or even a big company like Wal-Mart (not really). My business friends from college seem to do well there. (It is demanding, though.) At the same time, I wasn’t ready. Rather than overwhelming me, which He promised to never do, He gave me time to draw near Him and built me up.

And I’m still waiting. Who knows, I could still be waiting 6 more months. (I hope not!) All I know, it’s in His timing.

Wait patiently for the Lord.
Be brave and courageous.
Yes, wait patiently for the LORD. – Psalm 27:14 (NLT)

Leave a Reply

